clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas Rangers All-Time Team Announced

As you may or may not have heard, this year is the 40th season that the Texas Rangers have existed. After being established as a franchise in 1961 in Washington D.C. as the Senators, the franchise moved to Texas for the 1972 season, and thus, 2012 marks the 40th anniversary of the Rangers.

With that history lesson out of the way, the Rangers have announced the members of their all-time team, and you can find them after the jump.

With a tip of the cap to the folks at ESPN Dallas for the team, here's the Rangers who are on the all-time team:

Catcher: Ivan Rodriguez (1991-2002; 2009), Jim Sundberg (1974-83; 1988-89)
1B: Rafael Palmeiro (1989-93; 1999-2003), Will Clark (1994-98)
2B: Ian Kinsler (2006-12), Michael Young (2000-12)
3B: Buddy Bell (1979-85; 1989), Steve Buechele (1985-91; 1995)
SS: Michael Young (2000-12), Elvis Andrus (2009-12)
OF: Josh Hamilton (2008-12), Rusty Greer (1994-2002), Juan Gonzalez (1989-99; 2002-03),Ruben Sierra (1986-92; 2000-01; 2003), Nelson Cruz (2006-12), Jeff Burroughs (1972-76)
DH: Juan Gonzalez (1989-99; 2002-03), Rafael Palmeiro (1989-93; 1999-2003)
SP: Nolan Ryan (1989-93), Kenny Rogers (1989-95; 2000-02; 2004-05), Ferguson Jenkins (1974-75; 1978-81), Charlie Hough (1980-90)
RP: John Wetteland (1997-2000), Neftali Feliz (2009-12), Jeff Russell (1985-92; 1995-96)

Just like Noah's Ark, two players at each infield position were selected, along with six outfielders, four starting pitchers and three relievers.

Please note that current Rangers Kinsler, Young, Andrus, Cruz, Hamilton and Feliz made the team -- not too shabby. It also illustrates how strong this era of Rangers baseball is.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.