clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 World Series Umpiring Crew Announced

The umpiring crew for the 2010 World Series between the San Francisco Giants and Texas Rangers has been announced.

As is the standard in the playoffs, there will be six umpires. The standard four at each base and then the other two cover the left and right field foul lines. The six-man umpiring crew will have Sam Holbrook, Bill Miller, John Hirschbeck, Gary Darling, Mike Winters and Jeff Kellogg.

This will hopefully be the last time the umpires are mentioned aside from the introductions prior to each game. This postseason has been marred by missed calls by umpires ranging from balls and strikes to missed tags.

New York was the beneficiary of a blown call in Game 6 of the ALCS after Nick Swisher was struck in the shin by a pitch, causing the ball to change paths and squirt by Bengie Molina, allowing Alex Rodriguez to score. Home plate umpire Brian Gorman denied that Swisher was struck by the ball. Had he ruled correctly that Swisher was hit by the ball, Rodriguez would have been forced to remain at third. Rodriguez’ run tied the game at 1 but luckily for the Rangers (and baseball) Texas would respond quickly and break the game open to win the pennant.

None of the umpires involved in the ALCS will be umpiring the World Series.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.