clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU Wins 2011 Rose Bowl, Defeats Wisconsin 21-19

The TCU Horned Frogs are Rose Bowl Champions. The Horned Frogs improved to a perfect 13-0 on the season, defeating the Wisconsin Badgers 21-19.

Wisconsin scored on their first two possessions of the game, but were held to just two scores the rest of the game. The Badgers didn’t score in the second half until there were two minutes remaining in the fourth quarter. Wisconsin failed the two point conversion that would have tied the game when Tank Carder deflected a pass that was headed to a wide open receiver, forcing the Badgers to attempt an onsides kick. TCU recovered and ran out the clock to win the Rose Bowl.

Andy Dalton completed 15 of 23 passes for 219 yards and a touchdown pass while rushing for 28 yards and a touchdown. Luke Shivers scored TCU’s other touchdown, a one yard touchdown run.

Wisconsin outgained TCU 385-301 in total yards, but the yards didn’t translate into points for the Badgers. Wisconsin also won the time of possession battle, holding the ball for 36:35.

Neither team committed a turnover.

The Horned Frogs were held to just 82 yards on the ground, but it didn’t matter as TCU was able to score just enough to win the Rose Bowl.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.