clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Charles Haley, Bill Parcells Miss Out On Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Former Cowboys Charles Haley and Bill Parcells will both have to wait another year for their possible induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. Haley and Parcells qualified for the round of ten but were among the five eliminated. The voters chose Curtis Martin, Chris Doleman, Cortez Kennedy, Dermontti Dawson and Willie Roaf instead, while Jack Butler was elected by the veterans committee.

Haley saw Doleman elected, but he'll have to contend with Michael Strahan next year. That could mean a longer wait unless voters are willing to select two pass rushers in the same year. He won three Super Bowls with the Cowboys and two more with the 49ers and was selected to five Pro Bowls and two NFL All-Pro teams.


Parcells did his best work with the Giants, winning two Super Bowls and building a long term powerhouse. He rebuilt moribund franchises with the Patriots, Jets and Cowboys, taking the Pats to a Super Bowl, the Jets to an AFC Championship Game and returning Dallas to the playoffs. In all three cases he left strong rosters that continued to contend, largely with his players.


Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.