clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl 2013 rosters: DeMarcus Ware, Jason Witten only Cowboys selected

Two Dallas Cowboys players have earned a trip to the 2013 Pro Bowl.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Two Dallas Cowboys players were selected to the 2013 Pro Bowl on Wednesday night, with linebacker DeMarcus Ware and tight end Jason Witten earning spots on the NFC roster.

Jason Witten leads all tight ends with 983 receiving yards and set the all-time season record with 103 total catches on Sunday against the New Orleans Saints. Witten has just two touchdowns on the season but has overcome an exceptionally slow start to the season to have the quietest, best all-time season a tight end could possibly have.

Outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware earned another trip to the Pro Bowl based on reputation and less so on performance in 2012, as Anthony Spencer has taken up the lead as the top player on the Dallas Cowboys defense. Ware has battled through two very tough injuries, fighting separate shoulder and elbow injuries for the better part of the season. Ware still has 11.5 sacks on the year and five forced fumbles, while managing to provide consistent enough pressure to free up Spencer.

Atlanta Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez was also selected to the NFC team with Witten and will be the starter, while Aldon Smith of the San Francisco 49ers will start alongside Ware at outside linebacker.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.