clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cowboys Name Practice Squad

The Cowboys have named seven members of their initial practice squad, after players cleared waivers Sunday. Safety Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, the club's fourth round choice in 2010, will be joined by CB Mario Butler, FB Shaun Chapas, FB/LB Isaiah Greenhouse, WR Teddy Williams, LB Orie Lemon and WR Andre Holmes

AOA will get a badly needed season of polish after spending all last season on the 53-man roster. He returned kicks for Dallas but was not able to turn his raw athleticism into polished safety play. With the Cowboys keeping just four safeties, he could be an injury away from a call-up.

Butler was a contender for a corner spot, but the Cowboys opted to keep five and cut Butler and draft choice Josh Thomas (who was lost on waivers to Carolina). Butler showed coverage skills in camp and could also see a call up to the regular roster if a corner is needed.

Chapas was the other draftee cut, as the Cowboys cleaned out their fullbacks before adding Tony Fiammetta via waivers. Greenhouse adds versatility as he added fullback to his skillset during camp. He and Lemon can both fill in for the understaffed inside linebacking group.

Williams is back for another season on the squad, this time at receiver. The Cowboys continue to try to turn his blazing speed and good length into football ability. He will be joined at receiver by Holmes, who the Cowboys tried and failed to sign as an undrafted free agent after having him in for a pre-draft visit. He was among the Vikings' final cuts.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.