clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall Of Fame Class of 2011 Includes Deion Sanders, Not Charles Haley

Former Cowboy Deion Sanders is one of six inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday. Charles Haley, despite making the list of finalists, was not so lucky. Sanders, Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk and Shannon Sharpe were elected on the standard ballot to the 2011 hall of fame class. Chris Hanburger and Les Richter were voted in as seniors selections. Ed Sabol, founder of NFL Films, was also elected for his media contributions.

Sanders spent five of his 14 years in a Cowboys uniform, helping them win Super Bowl XXX in the 1995 season, a year after beating them with the 49ers on the way to his first championship. He went to eight pro bowls and was elected to eight All Pro teams (six first team, two second team). He won the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award with the 49ers in ’94.

Haley appeared to have an outside chance of making the Hall in his second year as a finalist. He won two super bowls with the 49ers and three with the Cowboys. His record of five championships still stands. He was voted to five pro bowls and was a two-time first team All Pro.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.