clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Celebration Penalty Was On Sam Hurd, Not Miles Austin

Richard Durrett has a bizarre note in the aftermath of yet another penalty-riddled Cowboys loss. Wade Phillips, who apparently did his homework on this, was told that the celebration penalty on Roy Williams’ touchdown Sunday, thought to be called on Miles Austin for hurdling Williams in the endzone, was actually called on Sam Hurd of all people.

Hurd, apparently, flashed the “Hook’em Horns” sign like Roy Williams always does, making it a choreographed celebration deemed illegal in the rule book. So the leapfrog that caused Austin so much angst the last two days was not the reason the flag came out.

An official on the field told Phillips that the penalty was on Austin. But Phillips said he called Johnson for clarification Monday morning and was told it was on Sam Hurd.

This is pretty sad, if true.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.