clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NIT Selection Show Time, TV Coverage: UT Arlington Earns Automatic Bid

By winning the regular season Southland title, UT Arlington has earned an automatic spot in the NIT. Automatic bids go to regular season conference winners provided they lose in their conference tournament and don't earn an at-large bid to the Big Dance. Texas Arlington suffered an upset loss in the Southland conference tournament 92-72.

Other schools that have already secured spots in the NIT are: Akron, Bucknell, Drexel, Iona, Middle Tennessee, Nevada, Oral Roberts, Stony Brook, Savannah State and Valparaiso. The 32 team NIT field will be announced in a selection show after the NCAA tournament field has been announced. The show will be televised live on ESPNU

Time: 9 p.m. ET or two hours after the NCAA Selection Show ends.

TV Information: ESPNU

For more on the NIT, be sure to check out our NCAA basketball hub. Also be sure to check out our 2012 NCAA Tournament for more on the Big Dance.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.