clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

11 Texas Area College Football Players Appear On The Maxwell And Bednarik Watch Lists

Watch lists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards were released on Monday and players from Baylor, SMU, TCU, Texas and Texas A&M appear.


On Monday, the first two watch lists in college football were revealed: the Maxwell Award which honors the nation's best overall player and the Bednarik Award which recognizes the best defensive player. On these two lists, 11 players from the state of Texas were recognized. Here they are:

Bednarik Award:

DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
DE Stansly Maponga, TCU
DE Alex Okafor, Texas
LB Sean Porter, Texas A&M
S Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

Maxwell Award:

RB Malcolm Brown, Texas
QB Seth Doege, Texas Tech
RB Zach Line, SMU
RB Christine Michael, Texas A&M
QB Casey Pachall, TCU
WR Terrance Williams, Baylor

The University of Texas leads the way with four players while Texas A&M and TCU have two each. Suprisingly, Baylor, after the success they've seen over the last few seasons has only one player on the list along with Texas Tech and SMU.

Other watch lists should be released over the next few weeks and SBNation Dallas will have all of the local players featured.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.