clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baylor's Brittney Griner, Odyssey Sims Finalists For Wade Trophy

According to, two Baylor Bears women, Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims, are finalists for the Wade Trophy, which is awarded to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division 1 women's basketball player. There are 12 finalists in all and Delaware's Elena Delle Donne, Notre Dame's Skylar Diggins, Miami's Shenise Johnson and DePaul's Anna Martin are included in the other 10 women nominated for the award.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members composed of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, in Denver. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

Griner and Sims helped lead the Lady Bears to a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament and have helped them to an undefeated 36-0 on their road to a perfect season in 2012.

For more on the Lady Bears, head to Our Daily Bears, and for more on their quest for a perfect season through the NCAA tournament, follow SB Nation Dallas' StoryStream.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.