clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AAA Texas 500 history

A look at the past winners of the AAA Texas 500.

Tyler Barrick

The Chase for the Cup is nearing its completion with just three races left, and the drivers will race at Texas Motor Speedway this weekend at the AAA Texas 500. This race is fairly new and has only been around since 2005, when Carl Edwards was the inaugural winner. He won again in 2008. Tony Stewart is the only other two-time winner at this event, winning in 2006 and 2011. Overall, there have been five different winners.

With Stewart having success at this track in the past, it could help him move up the current Sprint Cup Standings. Currently, he is in 10th place, and a steep 71 points behind leader Jimmie Johnson. A win at Texas Motor Speedway could move Stewart up a few spots with just two races left after this weekend.

The race is scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. CT Sunday on ESPN.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.