clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Race for the Chase standings: Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski 2 points apart

Sunday's AAA Texas 500 could go a long way in determining this year's Sprint Cup champion.

Jared C. Tilton

There's plenty at stake this Sunday when the Sprint Cup circuit makes the first of its three final stops for the 2012 season. Texas Motor Speedway is the site for AAA Texas 500, and the Chase is still on.

Jimmie Johnson overtook the lead with his win in Martinsville last weekend, but a mere two points behind is Brad Keselowski. Johnson (2,291 points) is winless on the Fort Worth track since 2007 and Keselowski (2,289 points) has never won a Sprint Cup race there.

Only 29 points separate Johnson from fourth place. Not far behind the two leaders are Clint Bowyer (2,265) and Kasey Kahne (2,262).

Denny Hamlin is fifth, still with a shot with 2,242 points, just 49 points behind Johnson. Jeff Gordon (2,237 points, 54 points back) is sixth, followed by Martin Truex Jr (2,228), Matt Kenseth (2,226), Greg Biffle (2,222), Tony Stewart (2,220), Kevin Harvick (2,203) and Dale Earnhardt Jr (2,151).

Sunday's race from Texas Motor Speedway is set to start at 2:16 p.m. and can be seen on ESPN.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.