clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Ragan Earns Pole Position In Samsung Mobile 500 Qualifying

It was a big Friday for David Ragan, as he won his first Sprint Cup pole at Texas Motor Speedway in advance of the Samsung Mobile 500.

Ragan ran a lap of 189.820 mph Friday at Texas Motor Speedway, easily taking the top spot from his Roush teammate, Carl Edwards (188.521 mphs).

Denny Hamlin, who won both events last year, will start in the 23 position. Red hot Kevin Harvick, the hot man on the track, will start 29th.

Bryan Broaddus still thinks that Hamlin is the man to watch Saturday night, followed by Carl Edwards. Edwards will attempt to keep Hamlin from matching his record three wins at TMS.

The Texas Jinx is alive and well, as Terry Blount attests.

Of the 20 Cup winners at TMS since 1997, only one went on to win the championship that season — Jimmie Johnson in 2007.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.