clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dirk Nowitzki, Team Texas Lose Out In NBA Shooting Stars Contest

Dirk Nowitzki, Kenny Smith and Roneeka Hodges failed to win a second Shooting Stars competition during the 2011 All-Star Saturday night. Nowitzki and Smith won the contest for Team Texas last year when the weekend was hosted by Dallas, but despite a fast start the trio was unable to sink their half-court ball. Team Atlanta (Al Horford, Steve Smith and Coco Miller) won the contest, with Horford sinking the long ball at 1:10.

Nowitzki also won a three-point shooting competition in 2006. He will compete in tomorrow's NBA All-Star Game on TNT. It will be his tenth straight appearance on the West All-Star roster. He is currently 13th in the league in scoring, at 22.7 per game.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.