clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Wins Daytona 500 Pole

NASCAR's most recognizable driver, despite never having won much, will finally have a golden opportunity to justify his popularity: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the pole today for the Daytona 500 for the first time in his career. Earnhardt's teammate with Hendrick Motor Sports, Jeff Gordon, is locked into the second slot along side Earnhardt for the Daytona 500.

The rest of the field will have their positions set after the Gatorade Duel on Thursday.

Full results from Sunday's qualifying are after the jump.

The qualifying results are via Jeff Gluck over at the mothership, SB Nation.

Here are the full qualifying results for the Daytona 500 (Note - This is not the starting lineup for the Daytona 500):

  1. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (locked into No. 1 spot)
  2. Jeff Gordon (locked into No. 2 spot)
  3. Trevor Bayne
  4. Paul Menard
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Jeff Burton
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Mark Martin
  9. Greg Biffle
  10. Tony Stewart
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Marcos Ambrose
  14. Kevin Harvick
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. David Ragan
  17. Bill Elliott* (locked in based on speed)
  18. Carl Edwards
  19. AJ Allmendinger
  20. Travis Kvapil* (locked in based on speed)
  21. Joe Nemechek* (locked in based on speed)
  22. Matt Kenseth
  23. David Reutimann
  24. Brad Keselowski
  25. Michael Waltrip*
  26. Dave Blaney*
  27. Jamie McMurray
  28. Regan Smith
  29. Kasey Kahne
  30. Kyle Busch
  31. Marcos Ambrose
  32. Brian Vickers
  33. Martin Truex Jr.
  34. Joey Logano
  35. Todd Bodine*
  36. Kevin Conway*
  37. Casey Mears*
  38. David Gilliland
  39. Steve Wallace
  40. Michael McDowell*
  41. Robby Gordon
  42. Terry Labonte* (locked in based on past champion's provisional)
  43. Robert Richardson Jr.
  44. Denny Hamlin
  45. JJ Yeley*
  46. Andy Lally
  47. Derrike Cope*
  48. Brian Keselowski*
* - Required to qualify on time    

Don't forget to follow SB Nation Dallas on Twitter and "Like" us on Facebook.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.