clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Walter Camp Award 2011 Winner: Andrew Lucks Beats Out Robert Griffin III, Others

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III was named as a finalist for the Walter Camp player of the year award alongside Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Houston quarterback Case Keenum, Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu.

The winner of the award went to Stanford's Luck and it could be first of many tonight for Luck as he is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards. Griffin made a strong case for the Walter Camp award as he led Baylor to a nine-win season for the first time since the Bears had back-to-back nine-win seasons in 1985-86.

Going by stats alone Griffin beat out Luck in every major quarterback category by having more passing yards, passing touchdowns, a better competition percentage, a higher quarterback rating and threw fewer interceptions.

Luck may have won due to being a bigger name or that Stanford is going to the Fiesta Bowl while Baylor is heading to the Alamo Bowl. Griffin will have another chance to go up against Luck for an award tonight as both are finalists for the Davey O'Brien award which goes to the nation's best quarterback.

For more on the Baylor Bears head over to Our Daily Bears.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.