clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Heisman Trophy Voting Results: Robert Griffin III Beats Out Andrew Luck

Robert Griffin III won the 2011 Heisman trophy by having an amazing year full of upset wins, highlight reel worthy throws and runs while putting up amazing stats along the way this season. 

Overall, Griffin earned up 1,678 and carried five out of the six regions and it was the Far West region that Griffin did not win as that area voted for Luck. Luck finished second in the voting with 1,407 points, Trent Richardson finished a distance third, Montee Ball and Tyrann Mathiew finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Here is breakdown of the voting:

Robert Griffin III 1,678 points, 405 first-place votes
Andrew Luck 1,407 points, 247 first-place votes
Trent Richardson 978 points, 138 first-place votes
Montee Ball 348, 22 first-place votes
Tyrann Mathieu 327, 34 first-place votes

Here is how the rest of the top-10 went: Matt Barkley finished sixth, Case Keenum was seventh, Kellen Moore was eighth, Russell Wilson was ninth and LaMichael James was 10th.

For more on Robert Griffin III's Heisman Trophy win, head over to Our Daily Bears.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.