clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Heisman Trophy Winner Is Robert Griffin III

Baylor Bears quarterback Robert Griffin III made an amazing late season run to just become a Heisman Trophy finalist, and now he is the 77th winner of the award. Griffin beat out Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Alabama running back Trent Richardson, LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu and Wisconsin running back Montee Ball.

Griffin's hype started in the first week of the season when he put up 50 points on the TCU and closed out the season by putting up the most yards against a Texas defense that was ranked No. 14 in the nation.

Over at SB Nation's Baylor blog Our Daily Bears, they explain Griffin's candidacy:

Robert Griffin III deserves the Heisman Trophy because he was, by any measure, the most outstanding player in college football this year.

In leading Baylor to a 9-3 record and No. 12 ranking in the BCS, Griffin amassed over 4,500 total yards and 45 touchdowns, broke the NCAA single-season record for passing efficiency (192.3 for Griffin this year), and led the country in yards per pass attempt. Baylor's offense ranked No. 1 in the country according to Football Outsider's FEI, while most rankings had our defense in the 100s.

No player means more to his team or to his community than Robert Griffin, who played his best in Baylor's biggest games (particularly against OU and UT late in the season). He delivered constant excitement and led his team to heights we've never seen before. He deserves the Heisman.

Griffin is Baylor's first ever Heisman trophy winner.

For more on Baylor head over to Our Daily Bears.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.