clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trust: 2005 Heisman Will Remain Vacated

Per ESPN, the 2005 Heisman Trophy will not be awarded to Vince Young – or anybody – following Reggie Bush’s forfeiture of the award on Tuesday.

“It was a difficult decision to return the Heisman Trophy and he exhibited great character in acknowledging his mistakes and accepting the consequences,” the Heisman Trophy Trust said in a statement.

“As a result of Reggie Bush’s decision to forfeit his title as Heisman winner of 2005, the Trustees have determined that there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year 2005,” the statement read.

Earlier in the week, Vince Young said he “definitely” wanted the award before saying last night on Twitter that the award will always be Bush’s despite the forfeiture.

Young had received 933 votes fewer than Bush did in 2005, a fairly significant margin. Of course, Young will forever have his legitimate Rose Bowl win over Bush and the USC Trojans to fall back on.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.