clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Neftali Feliz Wins American League Rookie Of The Year Award

Neftali Feliz was named the 2010 American League Rookie Of The Year Monday, beating out Detroit Tigers outfielder Austin Jackson with 20 of 28 first-place votes. Feliz is just the second Texas Ranger and fifth closer ever to win the award. Mike Hargrove won it in 1974 with a .323/.395/.424 season. 

Feliz entered the season as the setup man for Frank Francisco, but Francisco's early struggles had Feliz saving games a week into the season. He totaled 40 - rookie record for saves - and blew just three all season. Feliz threw 31 innings in 2009 but since he stayed below the rookie limits, he was still considered a rookie in 2010. He appeared in seven postseason games, and though he appeared nervous early, he allowed just one run in 7.1 innings, striking out 11.

Giants catcher Buster Posey won the National League award, beating out Braves outfielder Jason Heyward with 20 of 32 first-place votes. Posey and Feliz actually faced each other in the World Series, with Posey singling in an uneventful inning.

Photographs by jamesbrandon, jdtornow, phlezk, flygraphix, mcdlttx, tomasland, and literalbarrage used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.