WACO, TX - DECEMBER 03: Robert Griffin III #10 of the Baylor Bears looks to pass during a game against the Texas Longhorns at Floyd Casey Stadium on December 3, 2011 in Waco, Texas. (Photo by Sarah Glenn/Getty Images)

2011 College Football Awards: Robert Griffin Wins Davey O'Brien Award

A number of 2011 College football awards will be handed out this evening.

  • Live
3 Total Updates since December 8, 2011
  • Updates 2
  • Articles 1
  • All Updates 3

2011 Davey O'Brien Award Winner: Robert Griffin III Named Best Quarterback

Earlier Thursday night, Baylor's Robert Griffin III was beat out by Stanford's Andrew Luck for the Walter Camp player of the year award. This time Griffin was able to edge out Luck by winning the Davey O'Brien award which is given to the nation's best quarterback. Griffin also beat out Houston Cougars quarterback Case Keenum.

On the year Griffin was a human highlight reel with his amazing throws and used his legs to make plays for his team. Griffin was just shy of 4,000 yards passing this year and ended up 3,998, he threw 36 touchdowns to only nine interceptions and had a passer rating of 192.31 which broke the all-time single season record which was previously held by former Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan who's rating was186. Griffin also added 644 rushing yards and nine rushing touchdowns.

Both Luck and Griffin are going up against each other one more time for the ultimate college football award in the Heisman Trophy.

For more on the Baylor Bears head over to Our Daily Bears.


Walter Camp Award 2011 Winner: Andrew Lucks Beats Out Robert Griffin III, Others

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III was named as a finalist for the Walter Camp player of the year award alongside Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Houston quarterback Case Keenum, Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu.

The winner of the award went to Stanford's Luck and it could be first of many tonight for Luck as he is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards. Griffin made a strong case for the Walter Camp award as he led Baylor to a nine-win season for the first time since the Bears had back-to-back nine-win seasons in 1985-86.

Going by stats alone Griffin beat out Luck in every major quarterback category by having more passing yards, passing touchdowns, a better competition percentage, a higher quarterback rating and threw fewer interceptions.

Luck may have won due to being a bigger name or that Stanford is going to the Fiesta Bowl while Baylor is heading to the Alamo Bowl. Griffin will have another chance to go up against Luck for an award tonight as both are finalists for the Davey O'Brien award which goes to the nation's best quarterback.

For more on the Baylor Bears head over to Our Daily Bears.


2011 College Football Awards: Robert Griffin III Named To Walter Camp All-American Team

Robert Griffin III was names to the Walter Camp All-American second team and is the only Baylor player to make the list.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Dallas

You must be a member of SB Nation Dallas to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Dallas. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Dallas

You must be a member of SB Nation Dallas to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Dallas. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.